There is no doubt that an adult can and should be held responsible if their actions lead to another person’s suffering and injury. What transpires, then, if the individual who endangered someone was a minor? Can you get paid for your damages in this situation? The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker can be reached at 800-333-0000 for your free legal consultation after you have finished reading to learn the facts.
Only specific circumstances allow minors to be held accountable for causing harm
The bad news is that juveniles are typically not liable for injuries they cause under the law. There are a few exceptions, which is good news because you’ve located a personal injury lawyer who can assist you figure out whether your situation qualifies. You will not be suing the kid in these situations; rather, you will be suing the minor’s parent or legal guardian.
In cases of intentional misconduct, you might be able to file a lawsuit
If a minor’s parent or guardian engages in willful and intentional behavior that causes harm, you may sue them in accordance with California law. A teenager who physically assaults someone is one illustration. They might be made to pay for their parents’ hospital, dental, and medical bills.
Parents must take responsibility for their kids’ access to firearms
Parents may be held responsible for their child’s injuries or property damage if they give them access to a firearm or leave one available to them. California currently permits recovery of up to $30,000 for a single death or injury, and up to $60,000 for all deaths or injuries in a single occurrence.
You might be able to recover damages if a minor was at fault for your injuries in a car accident
Parents or the adult who signed a minor’s driver’s license application may be held legally responsible for your injuries if the minor carelessly causes a car accident, such as by texting while operating a motor vehicle. The minor must have had the child’s express or implicit permission to drive, nevertheless. The parent would not be held accountable, for instance, if the youngster drove away in the family car while the adults were sleeping despite being ordered not to.
In other circumstances, when the parent knew their child was driving, the victim may be entitled to compensation of up to $15,000 for each injury, $30,000 for all injuries sustained in a single accident, and $5,000 for property damage. There might be further strategies for money recovery. For a free legal consultation, contact a personal injury lawyer by calling The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 right away. The best legal solutions can be determined after discussing your case.