Since 2009, California has had specific laws regarding texting and driving. Some individuals believe that some of these laws are simple to grasp, while others believe that they are complicated. For example, while texting while driving is prohibited, what does the law say about texting while waiting at a stoplight? Read on to find out the answers, and then contact The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 if you want legal assistance as a result of a car accident injury.
Is it possible to text when stopped at a red light?
It is prohibited to write, read, or send text messages while driving in California, according to the Wireless Communications Device Law, which has been in place since 2009. Since 2008, the Handheld Wireless Telephone Laws have made it plain that no motorist can use a wireless phone while driving unless they are dialing for emergency services. Drivers are permitted to use “hands-free gadgets,” but there is one restriction: the driver must be at least 18 years old.
If a person is discovered breaking this legislation, they might face a large fine. The first infraction is only $20, but further crimes will cost you at least $50. A person can pay three times the basic amount of the fine once penalty assessments are included. When the financial implications of these rules are considered, it is evident that texting while driving is not a viable option.
Is it possible to use a Bluetooth or similar earpiece?
Yes, you may use Bluetooth or comparable earpieces lawfully in the state of California. You are not, however, permitted to cover both ears. This is to guarantee that any emergency vehicles passing by can still be heard.
Is it necessary to have these laws?
Many people question whether this law is required. Is it really so serious if someone talks on their phone while driving? Consider the fact that hundreds of people die in vehicle accidents each year. In fact, at least one individual using a mobile phone is involved in more than one out of every four auto accidents. Hands-free devices are included in this category. This should demonstrate that these restrictions are not only essential, but that hands-free gadgets may also be harmful.
Are there any exceptions for applications that use push-to-talk?
There aren’t any. True, the legislation originally included an exception for commercial truck or truck tractor drivers, agricultural vehicle drivers, and tow truck drivers to employ a two-way, push-to-talk device. This function expired in the middle of 2011, and the only way to utilize a push-to-talk feature in a vehicle lawfully is if you have a hands-free earpiece or other form of hands-free device.
If you have been wounded in an automobile accident, you should think about your legal alternatives. For a free legal consultation, call The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000.