Since 2009, California has had particular texting and driving regulations. While some of these regulations are straightforward, others are perceived as being difficult by some. What is the law, for instance, regarding texting at a stoplight, despite the fact that doing so is prohibited while driving?
If you have questions or require a legal consultation because of injuries sustained in an automobile accident, continue reading to learn the answers. You can also call The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000.
Can you text while the light is red?
Writing, reading, or sending texts while operating a car is forbidden, according to California’s Wireless Communications Device Law, which went into force in 2009. No driver is allowed to use a wireless phone while driving unless they are dialing emergency services, according to the Handheld Wireless Telephone Laws, which have been in force since 2008. There is a restriction on the usage of “hands-free gadgets” for drivers: The driver must be at least 18 years old.
If someone violates this legislation and is caught, they may have to pay a hefty fine. The first offense has a $20 fine, but subsequent ones have a minimum $50 fine. A person can pay three times the base fine amount after penalty assessments are included. The financial implications of these rules make it quite evident that texting and driving is not profitable.
Can you use a comparable earpiece or Bluetooth?
Yes, using Bluetooth or other comparable earpieces is permitted in the state of California. You cannot, however, cover your ears on b side. This is done to make sure you can still hear any nearby emergency vehicles.
Do we really need these laws?
Many question the necessity of this law. Is it really that dangerous to use a phone while driving, after all? Hundreds of tragic car accidents occur every year, to be sure. In fact, at least one individual using a cell phone is present in more than one in four auto accidents. That also applies to hands-free tools. This ought to demonstrate to you the necessity of these restrictions as well as the risk associated with using hands-free devices.
Are there any push-to-talk applications that are exempt?
There aren’t any. It is true that the law originally did offer an exemption for drivers of farm vehicles, tow trucks, or commercial truck or truck tractor to employ a two-way, push-to-talk capability. The ability to use push-to-talk in a car without a hands-free earpiece or other hands-free equipment in use was repealed in the middle of 2011, making it illegal to do so presently.
If you were hurt in an automobile accident, you should think about your legal alternatives. For a free legal consultation, call The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000.