There is no question that an adult can and should be held accountable if their actions cause harm and injury to another person. However, what happens when the person who put someone at risk was a minor? Can you recover compensation for your damages in this case? Keep reading to get the facts and then contact The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 for your free legal consultation.
There Are Only Certain Circumstance Under Which Minors Can Be Held Accountable for Causing Injury
The bad news is that in most cases, minors cannot legally be held responsible for injuries they cause. The good news is that there are a few exceptions – and you have found a personal injury attorney who can help you determine if your case is an exception. Note that in these cases, you will not actually be suing the minor but rather the parent or guardian of the minor.
You May Be Able to Sue in Instances of Intentional Misconduct
According to California law, you can file a lawsuit against the parent or guardian of a minor who is guilty of willful and intentional misconduct that leads to injury. One example would be a teen who physically assault someone. Their parents could potentially be held accountable for medical, hospital, and dental costs.
Parents Are Liable for their Children Gaining Access to Firearms
If a parent allows their child to have a firearm, or leaves a firearm accessible, and their child causes injuries or property damage with that firearm, the parents can be held liable. Currently, California allows for recovery of up to $30,000 for death / injury to one person and a maximum of $60,000 for all deaths / injuries in a single occurrence.
If You Are Injured in a Car Accident Caused by a Minor Then You May Be Able to Recover Damages
If a minor causes a car accident by acting negligently, such as texting while driving, then their parent or whatever adult signed their driver’s license application can be held liable for your injuries. However, the minor must have been driving with the express or implied permission of the child. For example, if the child took their parents car while their parents were sleeping, even after their parents told them they could not use the car, then the parent would not be responsible.
In other situations, in which the parent was aware their child was driving, the law allows the victim to recover up to $15,000 per injury, up to $30,000 for all injuries involved in a single accident, and as much as $5,000 for property damage. There may be other ways to recover money as well. Call a personal injury attorney by reaching out to The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 now for a free legal consultation. We can discuss your case and find the best legal options.