An on-the-job injury can be devastating for many reasons. In addition to the pain, it can make a victim worry about their future at their job. It can be embarrassing to be injured in front of co-workers. And it can be worrisome if the victim cannot see their own doctor. Keep reading to find out if they do have a right to see their own doctor. Then contact The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 for a free legal consultation with an experienced workers’ compensation attorney.
The Importance of the Right Doctor
Why is it so important to have the right attorney? Because the doctor that treats you can be one of the most important factors in how well you heal. They will diagnose you and determine if the injury is connected to your job, create a treatment plan, and refer you to specialists if necessary.
You Can Choose Your Own Doctor in Certain Situations
In some states, you cannot choose your own doctor if you have a workers’ compensation injury. In California, you can choose your own medical group or physical as your treating for your workers’ compensation case but only if your employer provides regular health care coverage and you have provided your employer with written notice that you want your personal physician to treat you for work-related injuries.
If you do not have a predesignated doctor as described above, then your initial treatment will be with a doctor that the insurance company chooses or who is within their network of doctors. However, you might be able to change doctors.
How to Change Your Treating Doctor in California
If you feel that you are not receiving the level of medical care you deserve or need, or if you disagree with your doctor’s opinion and recommendation about how to handle your injury, then you are able to switch to another physician. How you will do that will depend on the procedures and timing in place for your specific situation. Your attorney can find answers to these questions for you.
If the insurance company has either an HCO or MPN, and you have a predesignated doctor, then you can switch to a network physician whenever you would like. If the insurance company has neither an MPN nor an HCO, then it all depends on when you want to make the change.
If it is within 30 days of reporting the injury, then you can change doctors one time, but generally, the insurance company will be able to choose the new doctor. After 30 days, you can change to a doctor that you choose. You must notify the insurance company of your change.
If you have questions about how this process works or what your next step should be, then we welcome your call to The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 for a free legal consultation. We are looking forward to helping you through this situation.