There are many things that California residents can enjoy year-round that may not be enjoyed in other parts of the country. Swimming, boating, and other outdoor recreation are good examples. Unfortunately, the fact that these activities can be enjoyed all year means that the chance for accident or injury is present all year long.
If you have lost a loved one in a pool accident then we urge you to contact The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 for a free legal consultation. In the meantime, read on to learn more about the California Pool Code passed by the state to create requirements for operators of public pools.
Lifeguard and safety requirements
Just about every public pool in the state is required to have a lifeguard. The few public pools that do not have this requirement must have signs that clearly state there is no lifeguard on duty. The lifeguards at pools must be CPR certified and trained in first aid.
Safety equipment must be on hand as well. This includes a phone, first aid kit, and backboard that includes a head and neck restraint. Larger pools must have two rescue poles as well as a ring-style life preserver. All pools are required to be enclosed by a fence or similar structure that controls access to the pool.
There are sanitation and maintenance requirements
Public pool operators are required to keep their pool clean, including keeping debris out of it and away from the pool area. The water must be clean and safe and it must be clear enough that the bottom of the pool can be seen. Treatment with disinfectants like chlorine is also required. Pool operators must test the water daily to ensure the chemical levels are safe, and they must take steps to prevent people with contagious diseases from entering the pool.
Public pools are inspected
Public pool operators must work with their county’s department of health (or their local agency responsibility for public pool safety). The agent will inspect the pool before it opens to the public and periodic inspections will continue to ensure the pool is in compliance with the above described Pool Code.
For each day the pool is not in compliance and continues to operate, a misdemeanor crime has been committed by the pool operator. Each of these offenses can be charged with as long as six months in jail and fines of between $50 and $1,000.
Call an attorney right away if you or a loved one is injured in a pool
There is no reason for a pool to be unsafe. With these rules, it is clear to operators what steps that should take to keep their guests safe. If these rules are not followed and someone is hurt, then the operator should be held accountable. We can help you do that. Contact The Law Offices of Larry H. Parker at 800-333-0000 for a free legal consultation today.